Monday, June 8, 2009

2009 Captains Announced

Coach Bobby Johnson announced today that Center Bradley Vielring, Safefty Ryan Hamilton, and Linebacker Patrick Benoist have been elected the Commodore Captains for the 2009 season.

Vierling is a preseason Rimington Trophy candidate, and Benoist is on the preseason watch list for the Lott Trophy, awarded annually to the nation's defensive impact player of the year.

In non-football news, freshman DH Aaron Westlake was named a second-team Freshman All-American on Monday by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association according to David Boclair of the the Nashville City Paper.

1 comment:

Douglas James said...

MLB draft begins today. Where do you think Minor might go? Love to see another top 10 pick.